What can I get out of Dance?

After every unit my students fill out a self evaluation and it is one of my favorite assignments to mark it allows me to see what my students expect to get out of the class and how they expect to move forward in Dance or Drama. 

One of the Questions I ask is ‘Are there areas in dance you have improved?‘ One of the answers my student gave made me so happy and is one of the reasons that I love what I do. 

I have improved my confidence level, that’s the biggest one for me. I usually keep to myself and I have never been on any teams or anything. I have always been the quieter less social person. With my improved confidence I am able to improve my dancing and go full out to the best of my ability.  -Grade 10 Student

 

This student is a new dancer and although reserved at the beginning of class has come leaps and bounds. She even took on a leadership role with the younger students during our dance showcase! It has been wonderful to see and I agree fully with her that she has become a more confident person not only in dance but also in life. 

Image

 

Leave a comment