Hello world!

This is my Blog, or at least the beginning of it. It is intended as a project for an education class and I am hoping will challenge my technological skills as they are not so great. I want this blog to shine light on why Drama and Dance are important subjects in school! So we will see how it turns out in the end. 🙂

Lets start with my inspiration for this topic:

(From my first week of teaching )I had a student today that has chosen to drop my dance class because her parents wanted her in a more academic class (So she says). She already is taking a full course load. All I could think of was that dance (and drama) is an academic class that teaches so many useful skills that can be used in many aspects of class. I just wish that her parents would see it that way. However, another issue is that our school is also over capacity and because of that students have had to drop options because there is no room to shuffle them around their core subjects.

So why do Drama and Dance take a back seat to other subjects? I am not by any means saying that core subjects (Math, Science, Social, and Language Arts) are not important, because they are! However classes that teach live skills are important too. I know not everyone can take a Drama and Dance class but they should be included in the into other subjects.  Being involved in a show will not make you better at math, however the opportunity will improve confidence and presentation skills. The skills that My students and I have learned throughout the term this year are skills that can be carried over in our lives and that is what makes these classes important to me.

One thought on “Hello world!

Leave a Reply

